top of page

DIY Gifts for your Emo friends or valentines

There is nothing more touching than a thoughtful gift from a friend or significant other, add in that most budgets are at an all time low because of the current pandemic and DIY becomes a perfect option. Heartfelt and budget friendly. Below are my DIY gift ideas for the emo in your life. Because let's face it, we all have one.


1.Painted Song Lyrics


You can pick up a canvas and some poster paints relatively cheap, and if I was to list all the places you could grab them from I'd be here all day. A quick google search will bring you the results you need. If you prefer to shop in person head to your local craft or sells everything store (Think The Range). Really it's a simple plan.

Next settle down with their favourite Spotify playlist and get creative. You could always sketch out a few ideas on plain paper before you get stuck in. Here is a link to a great blog for further inspo!


2.Photobook

girl in lemon coord stood in front of a door with a dog.
Slamdunk. Oh how I miss you.

If you are anything like me, you are super sentimental when it comes to memories with your loved ones, and you LOVE a good photo album. Yes, I know they're all on Facebook now, but lets face the music, it just isn't the same as a physical album where you can flick through memories of a day to remember. There are multiple apps where you can get all your gig photos printed at a small price, you can then glue, sew, paste or whatever else your heart wants a book together. Freeprints is a great example where you can get 45 prints for the price of postage each month, they also have an app dedicated to photobooks.


3.Map Wall Art


If you have a place that is special to both of you, this can easily be transformed into some unique and personal wall art. Maybe it's where you first met, where you got married or the location of their favourite festival. Grab an old map or print off a screenshot of the roadmap, cut into whatever shape you think they'll love and add to a frame. This can be done for a single location or multiple with a label for each, cute is what we aim for here.


4.Mix Tapes Aren't Dead


I know, total 90's nostalgia right now, who even makes mix tapes anymore? You should, or maybe a playlist in case your recipient doesn't have an old Walkman laying around... Take your brain back to when you were 15 and swooning over your crush in your bedroom to Mayday Parade or The Maine (or in my case, both) and let out your inner romantic. Throw together a bunch of songs that remind you of this person or that you know they will think are total bops. This one is completely free but can be so personal.

girl in tie dye shirt standing with a donkey wearing a big smile
I was very excited about the Donkey


5.Custom Fashion


Grab a 100% cotton plain white T, some fabric dye, read this blog and get dying! If you haven't guessed I'm talking about Tie Dye here, you can use their favourite colours as inspiration, giving them a totally unique piece to cherish forever. I've added for your entertainment a photo of me on my birthday in 2013 wearing a vest my friend Beth made for me that year (Shoutout Beth that was a cool shirt)



6.Knitwear


So I touched on knitting in my piece about DIY home decor which you can find here as well as being able to create cosy blankets, one of the simplest things you can learn to knit is a scarf. It's a straight line and you only need to learn one type of stitch. I'll give the same advice as I do in my other blog, there are so many helpful tutorials online, here is a video I have used in the past, grab yourself some wool and get going, by the time you're finished your favourite person will be warm and look good down every avenue.


7.Coupon Book


This is an oldie but a goodie, inspired by my own significant other who informed me this evening that "I was going to make you coupons for me doing all the washing up, because I didn't buy you a dish washer for Christmas, but I forgot." I'm not sure what kind of insight that is into my life, but there it is. It can be romantic, sexual or simply an IOU for a milkshake at that café by the metro station your bestie loves. Easy to make by hand or chuck together digitally and again at a minimal cost.


8.DIY Alcohol kit


bottles of alcohol on wooden shelves
Our embarrassingly large collection

Of course this is not a thoughtful gift if the intended receiver is T-total, but for those of us who are partial to a tipple this is a fairly easy idea. It takes a little more explanation as I'm not talking about brew your own here (although there is another idea for you!) what I mean is a bottle of Pimms, a pitcher and fresh fruit or mulled wine recipe, red wine, oranges and cinnamon sticks. Give them all the ingredients for a cocktail and a shaker, let them - or the both of you have the fun of putting it all together. Make sure you drink responsibly or you'll be forever the sickest kids.


9.Bake-Off


Most people, boys like girls love themselves a sweet treat. Create some cakes or cookies in the shape of something they love. Chances are like 90% of my friendship group they will be a Halloween lover so do some pumpkins and cute little ghouls. Make cat cookies or cakes inspired by house plants. The list of ideas really can be endless, the only cost being that of ingredients. Jane's Patisserie is my go to place for baking recipes if you need some inspiration.


10.Pottery


Now, if you're really creative you could create this from scratch, attended a class (Covid allowing of course). However if this is too technical or not possible for you then upcycling a plain pot can be just as fun. Plants have seen a boom in popularity and we all have at least one friend who is greenery mad. Dark and gothic planters can be especially hard to find, but black paint is easy to get ahold of. Paint the northstar or moon phases for your witchy friends, again the possibilities here are as endless as your imagination.


I hope this has got your brain flowing on some low-budget DIY gift ideas for the special people in your life. I love creating home made gifts, they really are one of a kind. The last thing you want to do is panic! at the disco when you realise you haven't got a gift.


Stay safe, and be kind. ~Becca.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page