top of page

Where do you buy alternative style shoes?

Don't have time to read? Scan through and use our easy Key to find brands with values that matter to you! KEY Budget Vegan Ethics UK Based USA Based

I don't know about you guys but I LOVE shoes. Always have. If you're anything like me shoes are where you splurge when it comes to your fashion and you genuinely believe they can make or break an outfit. Below is a list of retailers for all your alternative footwear needs, from some basic staple to really out there pieces, I've covered all bases.


Killstar




First on my list purely because I absolutely need a pair of the Blackwood Platform Boots! Everyone researching alt brands will come across Killstar. They don't only stock boots, although they are in my opinion the superior type of shoe. There is a good range of footwear, including trainers, creepers and heels leaving room for everyone to find something for them. The detail in these designs are sure to blow away once they arrive. If you want to support a company that gives back then take a look at their community page where they outline with receipts charities they have supported in recent times.


Koi Footwear




Koi has been my go to for shoes for a while, and if you time it right you can get some killer sales too! A dedicated footwear brand there is a lot of choice here, and some really great stuff if you have some colour in your personality, wear nothing but black or have a minimalist vibe. Koi are a 100% vegan brand allowing our animal advocates to shop completely guilt free, as well as making a conscious effort to lessen their impact on the environment. No one wants cool shoes at the expense of the planet... There are multiple pieces on this on their site, including a dedicated ethics page.



Disturbia



Disturbia are first and foremost an alternative clothing brand but do have a small selection of shoes perfect for those who lean towards a more Gothic style, or anyone else you can appreciate a chunky black shoe featuring buckles and/or spikes. (That's all of us, no?)

Another site with a dedicated page to sustainability it outlines their mission to help our earth with efforts such as their range of tees manufactured using renewable green energy and 100% organic cotton.



Attitude clothing




Attitude are another retailer that aren't for those who currently have short purse strings, but their designs are out of this world. With shoes for all occasions they carry shoes of their own brand as well as stocking 8 others giving a really great range available here. Some styles of shoes are Vegan which are clearly marked on the website. The brands so far have been pretty cool and it can't get much cooler than these right? Wrong, we're just getting started.


Image Credit: attitudeclothing.co.uk


Demonia




Demonia don't stock much for the faint hearted, but that is exactly why they have made it to this list. Another brand I could happily purchase one of everything from and wear the lot. They are a southern Californian brand but ship worldwide, with duty and tax included in the item price saving you any surprise extra costs. Also stocked by some UK based alt clothing suppliers such as Angel Clothing (mentioned in my homeware blog HERE). They provide styles you only need to look at to know you'd feel like king or queen of the world in.

Pleaser shoes




For those of you looking for something a little sexier, and who like your heels higher than your hopes, I present Pleaser - the Mumma brand to Demonia. I know some of you will feel your ankles snapping simply looking at these shoes, but you must appreciate the craftsmanship that goes into these beauties. We all have an inner bad b*tch whether you want to admit it or not, and this is THE brand for you to wear whilst doing hot girl shit.




Dr. Martens




I don't think my friends would ever forgive me if I done a blog about shoes and didn't include this brand. Although there are some people who believe the quality isn't what it used to be, this is a brand that has my heart. When I got my first pair in August 2017 I all but lived in them, and they are still going strong, if a bit well worn in now. I know I was late to the party but my teenage self couldn't see past DC trainers for a minute there.


** INSERTS INSTA POST***


Hades Footwear




Hades footwear is an American brand, but for my fellow UK babes, it is stocked HERE at Kate's Clothing. If you are looking for footwear that would fit right in on Lucifer's right hand Woman then look no further. These are certainly not a budget option with the cheapest full price pair currently on Kate's setting you back £159.99, however you can guarantee for this cost you will be set apart from the crowd. It took me some searching to confirm but Hades are also 100% vegan.




AJ Voyage




AJ Voyage might seem basic placing it straight after the Hades range, but we all need a good all rounder. Whilst the excitement of the shoes above might get your blood pumping they're not practical for most of us day to day (unfortunately). If you're looking for something a little less weird then AJ Voyage have some really great staple pieces. Prices here are also a drop in the ocean compared to some of our other stores, meaning if you need something low cost this is a good choice.


Hopefully there is something above that incites that Must Buy Shoes fire I know all too well, If I have been able to help you discover an awesome new brand or rekindle your love for one forgotten then my job is done. I would love to hear your thoughts and feedback in the comments - good and bad! Let me know what you want to see from us in the future. Stay Safe and Be Kind. Becca x

0 comments

Comments


bottom of page